Moving Folders

As an administrator, you have the ability to 'move' folders in the Manuals and Files tool. This functionality can be used to 'move' folders from world-level to country-level (or vice versa).

Moving Folders

Important: You can only move parent folders. The 'move' icon is not available for sub/child folders.

World-Level Moves (world-to-country)

See instructions below for moving folders from world-level to country-level:

1. Go to Communication → Manuals and Files

2. Click on the 'move' icon next to the folder name (right-hand side)

3. In the prompt that appears, select the country (or countries) you wish to move the folder to

Important: As per the message in the prompt, when a folder is moved from world-level, all files within it will become 'inactive' and any external links will need to be regenerated upon activation. All of which will need to be done at country-level (wherever they were moved to).

4. Click on the Move button

Note: You must select at least one (1) country for the Move button to become active/clickable.

Once done, you should see a confirmation message at the top of the screen:

Example confirmation message of folder that was moved to multiple (2) countries

Important: When folders are moved from world-level, completely new versions of these folders and the content within (e.g. sub-folders & files) are created. This means that, all folder, sub-folder and file IDs and links are different. So, if you have direct links to any of these items (e.g. within training content, widgets etc.), then you must update them to reflect the new IDs/links - as the previous ones will no longer be valid.

National-Level Moves (country-to-world)

See instructions below for moving folders from country-level to world-level:

1. Select the country

2. Go to Communication → Manuals and Files

3. Click on the 'move' icon next to the folder name (right-hand side)

Tip: Whenever there are parent folders in country-level that do not show a 'move', 'edit' or 'delete' icon, this means that they are world-level folders - which cannot be managed from country-level.

4. In the prompt that appears, click on the Move button

Important: When a folder is moved from country-level, all files within it will remain 'active' and any external links remain as is.

Once done, you should see a confirmation message at the top of the screen:

Example confirmation message of folder that was moved to world-level

Important: When folders are moved from country-level, the same versions of these folders and the content within (e.g. sub-folders & files) are moved. This means that, all folder, sub-folder and file IDs and links remain as is. So, if you have direct links to any of these items (e.g. within training content, widgets etc.), these do not need to be updated.

Bulk Moving Folders

Whilst it is not possible to 'move' folders in bulk within the platform. Our Support Team can assist you with this.

To submit a bulk move request, please contact our Support Team at wmsupport@franconnect.com

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful